Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli not in White Ball Cricket against South Africa

Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are not in T20I and ODI squad against South Africa. After the conclusion of the five-match T20I series against Australia, Team India will travel to South Africa for their first multi-format tour. On Thursday, the BCCI announced India’s squad for the upcoming ODI, T20I and Test series against hosts South Africa. India have rested skipper Rohit and former captain Kohli for the white-ball leg of the South Africa tour.

Sharma and Kohli’s last appearance in T20Is was in the T20 World Cup 2022, where India faced elimination in the semifinals against England. Since then, Hardik Pandya has taken charge of the T20I side. They have not played in the ongoing T20I series against Australia. Suryakumar Yadav is leading the team. Rohit, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul and Jasprit Bumrah were rested by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for the Australia series. Now Rohit and Kohli are not in the announced T20I and ODI squad against South Africa. The BCCI has also revealed why Kohli and Rohit were not named in India’s white-ball squads for the South Africa series.

BCCI said, “Mr Rohit Sharma and Mr Virat Kohli had requested the Board for a break from the white-ball leg of the tour. Mr Mohd. Shami is currently undergoing medical treatment and his availability is subject to fitness.” So, Suryakumar is named captain for the South Africa T20Is and wicketkeeper-batter KL Rahul will lead the side in the three-match ODI series.

India’s T20I squad against South Africa: 
Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohammad Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

India’s ODI squad against South Africa:
Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar.

India’s TEST squad against South Africa:
Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammad Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohammad Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.

Leave a Comment