IND VS AUS T20I: India Claimed the Series Defeating Australia by 20 Runs

India claimed the T20I series winning the fourth match of the series against Australia still one match remaining. India beat Australia by 20 runs at Raipur winning the series by 3-1. With bat Jaiswal, Gaikwad and Rinku played the important role. With ball the spin duo of Axar Patel and Ravi Bishnoi did the job. Chasing 175, Australia stopped at 154 for 7 in 20 overs.

Australia won the toss and opted to ball first. Jaiswal (37 off 28 balls) with Ruturaj, notched up 50 runs in the powerplay, gave a promising start. But subsequent dismissals of Iyer and Suryakumar Yadav hindered their progress. Ruturaj Gaikwad (37) played a stabilizing role, forming a crucial 48-run partnership with Rinku Singh (46 off 29 balls) for the 4th wicket. Jitesh Sharma maintained the momentum with a brisk 35 off 19 balls. But then India faces disappointment as the last two overs yielded only 13 runs, with the loss of 5 wickets. Despite a promising start India scored 174 for 9 in 20 overs.

Australia, chasing 175 for victory, fell short, scoring 154-7 in 20 overs. The spin duo of Axar Patel and Ravi Bishnoi were too good today. Patel and Deepak Chahar picked up crucial wickets for India. Travis Head (31), Matthew Short (22) and Matthew Wade (36*) were the leading run-scorers for Aussies. Axar Patel picked 3 wickets and gave only 16 runs in 4 overs. He has been awarded as player of the match. Ravi Bishnoi got 1 wicket giving only 17 runs. Deepak Chahar got 2 wickets. Avesh Khan bowled tight in the death. Winning by 20 runs India seal the series 3-1 with a game to go. The fifth and final T20I of this series is going to be in Bengaluru on Sunday.

Leave a Comment