IND vs SA : Sunil Gavaskar picks India’s playing XI for 1st Test against South Africa

India will play two-match Test series against South Africa that begins from December 26 onwards in Centurion. Before that batting legend Sunil Gavaskar has picked his playing XI for the Boxing Day Test. Gavaskar named Rohit and Yashasvi Jaiswal as the openers. According to the former India skipper, Shubman Gill will continue to bat at the No.3 position. After that Virat Kohli will come. Indian team already announced KL Rahul as the wicketkeeper.

Just like the Indian team choice, KL Rahul has been picked by Gavaskar in the Indian XI to keep wickets for Rohit’s men in the 1st Test. “My playing XI is gonna be very simple. The openers will be Yashasvi Jaiswal and Rohit Sharma – the captain. Number 3 Shubman Gill, Number 4 Kohli, Number 5 KL Rahul and Number 6 Shreyas Iyer. 5 and 6 can move, and after that will be Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin,” Gavaskar told Star Sports. 

After picking Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin, Gavaskar named Bengal seamer Mukesh Kumar with Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj as fast bowlers for the first test. “Then I’ll have three fast bowlers – Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj”, Gavaskar said.
Sunil Gavaskar’s India XI for 1st Test against South Africa:
Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Mukesh Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

Leave a Comment