ICC Test team of the year: Only Two Indians featured in the List

ICC announced their Men’s Test team of the year 2023. But only two indian players featured in list. Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli were overlooked. Pat Cummins was named captain. Australia dominated the World Test Championship (WTC) playing XI with several nominations. The list includes Indian spinners Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja.

Ashwin emerged as India’s top wicket-taker in the Border-Gavaskar series, claiming 25 wickets in four matches. He is is the fourth nominee for ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year. Though Ashwin was not picked in India’s XI for the WTC final against Australia, he made a mark on his comeback into the Test team with 12 wickets (5/60 and 7/71) in the first game against West Indies followed by fifty and three wickets in the next game. He will lead India’s bowling attack against England in the home series.On the other hand, Jadeja kicked off the season with a five-wicket haul and a crucial fifty against Australia. He bagged four wickets and chipped in with a 48-run knock in the WTC final against Australia. But Kohli and Rohit failed to feature in the WTC XI for 2023.

Pat Cummins was named captain. Cummins guided Australia to their first-ever WTC title before Australia’s record-extending sixth World Cup crown in the 50-over format. Cummins was also nominated for the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year. Under his leadership, Australia retained the Ashes last year.

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year 2023:
Usman Khawaja, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kane Williamson, Joe Root, Travis Head, Ravindra Jadeja, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (C), R Ashwin, Mitchell Starc, Stuart Broad.

Leave a Comment